Men and Menstruation

Archit Rathod,menstruationmenlife

Menstruation 101: What Every Man Should Know

My experiece with Menstruation

  1. The Marwari Family

As a child born in the Marwari Family we have a different approach towards menstruation. Like everymonth for 3-4 days I saw my mom not entering the kitchen. I was always told that she is not allowed to touch anything on her own like plants, god, holy books and even water. I felt bad and as a curious child always questioned. But my family members and even my mom never answered my questions. I was either distracted or sent away to play. Never got the exact answer to why things were like this.

  1. Pati Patni aur woh

Read along to know what I mean by this.😅

My dad is a pharmacist and runs a medical store. My mom used to send me to bring pads (which I didn't know back then what they were for) from our store. She used to saw papa ko bol woh de he will understand. I was like what?😂 And then I would go to my dad tell him in his ear - papa mummy ne woh manga hai. Feel so stupid now.😂 He would wrap the pad packet in newspaper and give it to me. I would bring it home and give it to my mom. This was the only interaction I had with menstruation.

  1. The School

Even in my co-ed school life due to my shy nature I never had any female friends who were comfortable to talk about this. So I never got to know about menstruation from them. Eventhough from movies and other sources I knew that this is something that started during puberty at an age of 13-14 but I never knew what exactly it was.

  1. The Break

Another experience of me with menstruation was back in 2015 when I was at my Nani's place with all my cousins to enjoy the summer vacation. One of my cousin had her first period. She cried and cried the entire day. Everyone in the family was trying to console her but I saw none was touching or coming close to her. Not even her mother. She was served food from a distance Me and my cousin brother of the same age who were 10 minutes ago playing together now were told to not sit close and play with her. This incident was extremely saddening and we were confused and aksed our parents about this but still didn't get any compelling answers. We were told that she is not well and we should not disturb her. We were told to not talk about this with anyone.

Why do I write this?

What I learnt?

So lets start with the basics.

What is menstruation?

Menstruation, commonly known as a "period," is the monthly shedding of the uterine lining in females of reproductive age ~(14-58). It is a crucial part of the menstrual cycle, which typically lasts about 28 days but can vary among individuals. The menstrual cycle is governed by hormones and plays a significant role in a woman's reproductive health.

What is the menstrual cycle?

The menstrual cycle is a roughly 28-day process that prepares a woman's body for pregnancy. It consists of several phases:

  1. Menstruation (Day 1-5): The start of the cycle is marked by menstruation, where the uterine lining is shed. This is when bleeding occurs.

  2. Follicular Phase (Day 1-13): The body prepares an egg for release from the ovaries.

  3. Ovulation (Around Day 14): The matured egg is released from the ovary, making it available for fertilization.

  4. Luteal Phase (Day 15-28): If the egg is not fertilized, the body prepares for another menstrual cycle. If fertilization occurs, it leads to pregnancy.

Note: The menstrual cycle is controlled by hormones, including estrogen and progesterone. These hormones are produced by the ovaries and regulate the menstrual cycle. Thus, menstrual cycle is different for different women.

What are the common symptoms?

During menstruation, many women experience a variety of symptoms, including:

  1. Cramps: These are caused by uterine contractions and can vary in intensity.

  2. Mood Swings: Hormonal changes can lead to mood swings and irritability.

  3. Bloating: Some women may feel bloated or experience water retention.

So how do women maintain hygeine?

Women use menstrual products, like pads, tampons, menstrual cups, or period underwear, to manage their flow. It's important to dispose of these products properly and maintain good hygiene during menstruation.

How can we as men help?

Understanding menstruation is an essential aspect of supporting the women in your life. Here are some ways to be supportive:

  1. Be Empathetic: Be understanding and empathetic when women experience discomfort or mood swings during their period.

  2. Offer Help: If possible, offer assistance with tasks and chores to ease the burden during this time.

  3. Educate Yourself: Take the time to learn about menstruation to better understand what women go through.

I urge each and every men as well as women out there to break this taboo and be open to hear, share, learn and discuss about these topics. It is not a shame to talk about this. It is a natural process and we should be open to talk about it.

Acknowledgement

MIT © Archit Rathod.